2018 Hong Kong 10km Championships from Ken Thorley.

The Hong Kong Amateur Swimming Association’s 10 km Hong Kong Open Water Championships were held on May 13th.

14 men and 7 women started the six-loop course at Tai Mei Tuk Water Sports Center in Plover Cove. “The weather was fine and warm with a water temperature of 26C. Both genders started together in the rectangular course. There was much riding on the results, with places on the Hong Kong national team up for grabs,” reported coach Ken Thorley.

The first 5 km was fairly slowly run. Sunny Poon, who had won The DWB 5 km ten days earlier, led throughout the first half of the race. Last year’s winner Keith Sin and Australian 16 year 7.5 km champion Bill Thorley swam right behind him. Passing the feed station at the halfway mark, Sin made a break and Thorley went with him. They quickly put a gap of 20 meters between themselves and the rest of the field which began to string out.

Eventually defending champion Sin increased his lead and got out to a lead of 100 meters. 2015 winner Desky Kwan Ho Yin surged out from the chase pack and out-sprinted Thorley to take second. Thorley hung on for third with Poon fourth.

In the women’s event, Asian Championship placegetter Wong Cho Ying was expected to win, but last year’s winner Nikita Lam, who had been beaten by Wong at the Asian Championships, turned the tables to defeat her to defend her title.

Hannah Li finished third. Times were very fast, indicating that the course must have been shorter than a full 10 km.”

Men’s Top 10 Results:
1. Keith Chin Ting Sin 1:38:38.6
2. Ho Yin Kwan 1:39:46.1
3. William Yan Thorley 1:40:33.7
4. Chinga Leung Sunny Poon 1:49:49.0
5. Sau Ching Wong 1:41:00.6
6. Tsz Fung Tse 1:41:36.4
7. Chun Hin Hui 1:41:57.3
8. Chak Fung Lam 1:44:31.1
9. Chung Kiu Yau 1:45:17.0
10. Tsz Him Lam 1:47:39.3

Women’s Top 7 Results:
1. Pac Tung Nikita Lam 1:46:01.8
2. Cho Ying Wong 1:47:37.4
3. Hannah Hang Fung Li 1:48:28.2
4. Sheung Wai Ho 1:51:10.6
5. Ka China Leung 1:51:10.8
6. Ho Yan Mak 1:58:50.4
7. Cheuk Ue Natalie Lam 2:01:00.3

Copyright © 2008-2018 by World Open Water Swimming Association