The big guns showed up on the other side of the world. 2-time Olympic medalist Thomas Lurz was there. World champion Sypridon Gianniotis showed up. And Olympic marathon swimmers like Allan Do Carmo, Evgeny Drattsev and Igor Chervynskiy were pumped up and ready to go.

The world’s elite was ready to race.

And so were newcomers like Joey Pedraza from Florida, USA and Kittiphat Pipimnun from Thailand – the next generation of elites were both anxious to see where they stacked up against the world’s top pros.

I came to see how the top athletes do these World Cup races,” explained Pedraza who was born in Cuba after the race. “What are their strategies and what they do. I got what I wanted and learned how these world-class athletes race and plan strategies. I place myself throughout the entire race next to Spyros [Gianniotis] and Thomas [Lurz] who got second and third. but when the time came to pick up the pace, I couldn’t keep up. But it is a true honor for me and my family to represent the United States in an international competition.”

The man who set the pace and finished first was emerging Australian Rhys Mainstone. The compact man of muscle threw down his gauntlet in the last stages of the race and won with a 7-second margin over Lurz. He proved he will be a force to be reckoned with over the next four years leading up to the 2106 Rio Olympics.

In another example of how close these marathon races are, seventh place was shared by Ferry Weertman of the Netherlands and Christian Reichert of Germany who finished exactly together in 1 hour 57 minutes 53 seconds and 5 one-hundreds of a second.

1. Rhys Mainstone (AUS) 1:57:36
2. Thomas Lurz (GER) 1:57:43
3. Spyridon Gianniotis (GRE) 1:57:45
4. Allan Do Carmo (BRA) 1:57:48
5. Evgeny Drattsev (RUS) 1:57:50
6. Andreas Waschburger (GER) 1:57:50
7. Ferry Weertman (NED) 1:57:53.05
7. Christian Reichert (GER) 1:57:53.05
9. Simon Huitenga (AUS) 1:57:54
10. Diogo Villarinho (BRA) 1:57:58
11. Igor Chervynskiy (UKR) 2:00:08
12. Kirill Abrosimor (RUS) 2:00:15
13. Joshua Richardson (AUS) 2:01:37
14. Igor Snitko (UKR) 2:01:38.30
15. Marcel Schouten (NED) 2:02:33
16. Samuel De Bona (BRA) 2:03:14
17. Joey Pedraza (USA) 2:03:43
18. Wen Chao Xu (CHN) 2:07:08
19. Kittiphat Pipimnun (THA) 2:15:47
20. Jian Shu Li (CHN) 2:15:51
21. Zhi Hao Yao (CHN) 2:16:03
22. Yeung Darwin Lee (HKG) 2:16:07
23. Ching Leung Sunny Poon (HKG) 2:16:27
24. Ka Chun Lau (HKG) 2:7:07
25. Chun Hin Hui (HKG) 2:17:13
26. Chun Hong Li (HKG) 2:17:15
27. Sere Phansomboon (THA) 2:17:22
28. Jia Ming Zhang (CHN) 2:17:37
29. Marcus Yat Ho Yuen (HKG) 2:17:58
30. Sin Chun Yiu (HKG) 2:18:40
31. Ho Yat Winson Lee (HKG) 2:22:00
32. Wang Chi Lau (HKG) 2:27:29
– Chak Lam Nicholas Lau (HKG) DNF
– Phillip Ryan (NZL) DNF

Copyright © 2012 by World Open Water Swimming Association