Stephen Redmond of Ireland is among the 15 nominees for the 2012
World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year. His story is shown below.

The World Open Water Swimming Man of the Year honors those who (1) best embody the spirit of open water swimming, (2) possess the sense of adventure, tenacity and perseverance that open water swimmers are known for, and (3) most positively influence the world of open water swimming.

His nomination from the World Open Water Swimming Association reads,

Few have endured and enjoyed a year like Stephen Redmond in the annals of marathon swimming. A man so driven, so committed to achieving the Oceans Seven that he inspired his community and moved a nation. Through his tenacious assault on the world’s most difficult channels, he laid everything he had on the line – money, reputation, family and friends. While Mother Nature was anything but maternalistic, he battled every obstacle known to open water swimmers. Failure greeted him nearly 50% of the time during 2012, but he eventually wrestled success from angry seas. His triumphant swims across the Cook Strait in New Zealand, the Molokai Channel in Hawaii, the Tsugaru Channel in Japan, and around Fastnet Rock in Ireland have made Redmond an Irish icon. For his risk-taking spirit, for his relentlessly adventurous soul that enabled him to achieve the Oceans Seven, for his humble acceptance of the unexpected and of his ultimate success, Stephen Redmond is a worthy nominee for the 2012 WOWSA Open Water Swimming Man of the Year.”

The 2012 nominees are (listed in alphabetical order of their first name):

1. Benjamin Schulte (Guam) – Fearless Olympic Marathoner
2. Craig Dietz (USA) – The Limbless Waterman
3. Colin Hill (Great Britain) – Olympic Showman
4. Doug Woodring (Hong Kong) – Ocean Environmentalist
5. Milko van Gool (Netherlands) – Humanitarian Swimmer
6. Oussama Mellouli (Tunisia) – Olympic Champion
7. Pierre Lafontaine (Canada) – Able & Ambitious Administrator
8. Ram Barkai (South Africa) – Mindful Ice Man
9. Salvatore Cimmino (Italy) – Swimming in the Seas of the Globe
10. Stephen Redmond (Ireland) – Oceans Seven Pioneer
11. Thomas Lurz (Germany) – Ambassador and Gentleman
12. Trent Grimsey (Australia) – English Channel Record Breaker
13. Wayne Riddin (South Africa) – Midmar Mile Director
14. Wayne Soutter (South Africa) – The Unthinkable
15. Morrie Chiang (Taiwan) – Sun Lake Moon Director

Online voting is taking place here until December 31st.

The 2008 recipient was Randy Nutt of the USA. The 2009 recipient was Petar Stoychev of Bulgaria. The 2010 recipient was Marcos Diaz of the Dominican Republic. The 2011 recipient was Jamie Patrick of the USA.

Redmond from County Cork, Ireland is a former rugby player and triathlete who has become one of the world’s hardiest marathon swimmers and a famed endurance athlete when he became the first person in history to achieve the Oceans Seven. Redmond has completed the following 7 channels of the Oceans Seven:

August 2009: English Channel in 20 hours 1 minute (England to France)
August 2010: North Channel in 17 hours 17 minutes (Scotland to Ireland)
May 2011: Strait of Gibraltar in 5 hours (Spain to Morocco)
October 2011: Catalina Channel in 12 hours 39 minutes (Catalina Island to California)
February 2012: Cook Strait in 12 hours 30 minutes (South to North Island, New Zealand)
February 2012: Molokai Channel in 22 hours 29 minutes (Molokai to Oahu, Hawaii)
July 2012: Tsugaru Channel in 12 hours 45 minutes (Honshu to Hokkaido, Japan)

Redmond attempted the Molokai Channel once before succeeding on his second attempt. He attempted the Tsugaru Channel in Japan three times before he succeeded on his fourth attempt in July 2012. He was also the first person to swim around treacherous Fastnet Rock, a small island in the Atlantic Ocean and the most southerly point of Ireland.

Copyright © 2012 by World Open Water Swimming Association