Grzegorz Mytnik, Tomasz Pąchalski, and Kazimierz Woźnicki helped create Polish open water swimming history when they organized the first Polish Open Water Swimming National Championship on August 3rd.

The event was organized at small lake in Kryspinów next to historical Polish city of Cracow and included a 5 km race for 14-16 year olds, a 7.5 km race for 17-18 year olds, and a 10 km race for swimmers at least 19 years old. “There were 47 swimmers from 27 different swimming clubs from throughout Poland,” explains race director Pąchalski. “The race was made on a rectangle course with each lap was 1250 meters. So the swimmers either swam 4, 6 or 8 laps depending on their age.

We also had a special guest of the event, Natalia Charlos who was the first Polish open water swimmer to qualify for the Olympic 10K Marathon Swim at the 2012 London Olympic Games, and Piotr Klimczak who swam across the Strait of Gibraltar.”

After the inaugural national championship, the organizers offered an additional 2.5 km race for amateurs and masters swimmers. It was the 24th edition of the International Cracow Open Water Marathon and held along the same course at the national championship event. “The 42 amateur swimmers were very satisfied that they were able to compete along the same course as the professional marathon swimmers.”

The top 3 finishers in the 10 km race were as follows (final results are here):

1. Melanoma Monika, AZS UWM Olsztyn, 2:27:16

2. Izabella Grzegorczyk, Posnania PoznaÅ, 2:29:10
3. Barbara Wasilewska, Omega Kleszczowa, 2:30:28

1. Kara Sebastian, Bielany Warsaw, 2:07:40

2. Christopher Pielowski, AZS UWM Olsztyn, 2:08:33
3. Borowicz Skoneczny, AZS UWM Olsztyn, 2:11:37

Photos courtesy of Katarzyna and Wiesław Ślęczkowscy.

Copyright © 2013 by Open Water Swimming