Courtesy of WOWSA, Huntington Beach, California.

Evgenij Pop Acev of Macedonia pulled away from defending champion Damián Blaum of Argentina at the end to win Maratona Del Golfo Capri-Napoli.

Last year, Blaum out-sprinted Pop Acev at the end to win the 36 km sea swim by 3 seconds, but this year, Pop Acev turned the tables and won by a larger margin of 15 seconds.

Final Results:
1 Evgenij Pop Acev, Macedonia 6:17:04
2 Damián Blaum, Argentina 6:17:19
3 Bertrand Venturi, Italy 6:25:49
4 Marcel Schouten, Netherlands 6:28:22
5 Matheus Evangelista, Brazil 6:28:54
6 Edoardo Stochino, Italy 6:29:26
7 Tomi Stefanovski, Macedonia 6:31:16
8 Gabriele Mento, Italy 6:46:15
9 Aleksandar Ilievski, Macedonia 6:52:46
10 Mohammad Saleh, Syria 6:57:47
11 Aquiles Balaudo, Argentina 7:11:02
12 Simon Pistor, Germany 7:16:53
OTL Fernando Ciaramella, Argentina
DNF Simone Ercoli, Italy
DNF Francesco Bianchi, Italy
DNF Daira Marin, Argentina

Women’s results are posted here.

Copyright © 2016 by World Open Water Swimming Association