Waikiki Roughwater Swim Celebrates Its Golden Anniversary

Photo of Alex Kostich courtesy of Paul Towers at the Hilton Hawaiian Hotel Channel, Waikiki Beach, Honolulu, Hawaii.

The 50th Annual Waikiki Roughwater Swim will be held in Waikiki Beach in Honolulu on September 2nd. The 2.4-mile race will see several Olympians and world-class swimmers from Team USA and Australia and over 950 swimmers of all ages line up on the shores of Sans Souci Beach.

For the 50th consecutive year dating back to 1970, the Waikiki Roughwater Swim will be held in dynamic, unpredictable conditions. Defending champion Ashley Twichell is expected to go head-to-head with the top men that includes 2018 overall winner Ollie Signorini, 27-time top 10 finisher Alex Kostich [shown above], Australian Olympian Wes Roberts, and 4-time Olympic medalist Jim Montgomery.

USA Swimming National Team member and 2-time winner Becca Mann will also participate – a much shorter challenge than her recent 20 hour 53 minute 57 km Maui Nui Triangle Swim that she her swim from Maui to Molokai to Lanai and back to Maui.

This event is held concurrently with the 15th Swim with Mike Hawaii, a college scholarship fund for physically challenged athletes.

For more information, visit www.waikikiroughwaterswim.com.

Ollie Signorini and Ashley Twichell, 2018 Waikiki Roughwater Swim winner.

Copyright © 2008 – 2019 by World Open Water Swimming Association