Bogusław Ogrodnik Joins Open Water Luminaries At TED Talks

Courtesy of TEDx Talks, English Channel.

Bogusław Ogrodnik is an inspiration to many. His athletic accomplishments are varied and impressive:

* He is a member of the exclusive Peak and Pond Club (i.e., climbing Mount Everest and swimming the English Channel in 20 hours 33 minutes).
* In 2006, he completed the Seven Summits of mountaineering.
* He swum across the Lake Balaton in Hungary, the Strait of Gibraltar, the Gulf of Gdańsk in Poland, and the Catalina Channel and Tsugaru Channel in Japan.
* He completed the 20 Bridges Manhattan Swim in New York to achieve the Triple Crown of Open Water Swimming.
* He attempted a Molokai Channel crossing in Hawaii and the Tampa Bay Marathon Swim in Florida.
* He competed in races in Alcatraz Island in San Francisco, the Winter World Swimming Championships in Tyumen, Russia, the Ice Kilometer at the Aqua Sphere Ice Swimming Championships in Germany.
* He completed an Ice Mile in 4.90°C water in 35:49.
* He created the Polish Ogrodnik Team and led the team at the 2018 Ice Swimming Aqua Sphere German Open.
* He is a member of the 24-Hour Club with a 24 hour 44 minute crossing of Lake Tahoe in California.
* He is the world record holder for denivelation at 9,011 meters as he scaled Mount Everest to 8,848 meters and dove to 163 meters in the Blue Hole in Sinai, Egypt.

He joined a number of athletes, physicians, writers and personalities who have spoken about open water swimming at TED conferences around the world when he talked about climbing Mount Everest and diving in the Blue Hole in Egypt:

* Lewis Pugh
* Diana Nyad
* Maarten van der Weijden
* Ori Sela
* Vicki Keith
* Dr. Peter Attia
* Tim Ferriss
* Angel Yanagihara, Ph.D.
* Maria Conceicao
* Dr. Tim Noakes
* Wallace J. Nichols, Ph.D.
* Lynne Cox
* Guillaume Néry
* Dana Vollmer
* Craig Dietz
* Kimberley Chambers
* Catherine Sheridan
* Patrick Fellows
* Doug McConnell
* Amos Nachoum
* Marcia Cleveland
* Dina Levačić
* Trinity Arsenault
* Lucas Carbonaro
* Antonio Argüelles
* Srikaanth Viswanathan
* Jaimie Monahan
* Bhakti Sharma
* Gaurvi Singhvi
* Bogusław Ogrodnik
* Lynne Cox
* Karen Gaffney
* Shams Alam

Copyright © 2008 – 2019 by World Open Water Swimming Association