Swimming Around Africa

Courtesy of OpenWater Africa, Lake Malawi, Malawi, Mozambique, and Tanzania.

Following in the wake of Lewis Pugh (9 hours 52 minutes in 1992, Dr. Otto Thaning (10 hours 5 minutes in 1992), Abigail Brown (9 hours 45 minutes in 2010), Milko van Gool (8 hours 46 minutes in 2013), Kaitlin Harthoorn (9 hours 17 minutes in 2013), Jean Craven (7 hours 53 minutes in 2016), Robert Dunford (7 hours 53 minutes in 2016), Michiel Le Roux (7 hours 53 minutes in 2016), Samantha Whelpton (7 hours 53 minutes in 2016), Greig Bannatyne (7 hours 53 minutes in 2016), Haydn Von Maltitz (7 hours 53 minutes in 2016), Douglas Livingstone-Blevins (7 hours 53 minutes in 2016), and Martin Hobbs (64-day stage swim in 2019), marathon swimmers can now officially cross Lake Malawi as part of the Stillwater_8 and ratified by the Marathon Swimming Federation.

Lake Malawi is a 23.5 km route from Cape Ngombo to Senga Bay.

For more information on crossings of Lake Malawi, Robben Island, or False Bay, or the Langebaan Swim Camp, or the 10 km Blouberg to Melkbosstrand swim, or the 11 km Dassen Island to Yzerfontein swims, or crossings from Robben Island, Modagar Island, Changuu Island, St. Helena Island or Goree Island, visit www.openwater.africa. Or email directly to [email protected]

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association