Silvia Dalotto Talks About Grit And Integrity On WOWSA Live

Sponsored by KAATSU Global, Huntington Beach, California.

International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Honor Swimmer Silvia Beatríz Dalotto competed on the professional marathon swimming circuit for 7 years, competing in 50 races, and later served many years as a FINA official. She is currently serving as the Director de Proyectos at Comité Olímpico Argentino.

The 49-year-old Dalotto was the International Marathon Swimming Association world champion in 1990 after winning the Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe – Coronda.*

Ned Denison of the International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame interviewed Dalotto on today’s WOWSA Live program. She talked about:

* learning how to swim with her mother at the age of 5
* beginning competitive swimming at the age of 10 and marathon swimming at the age of 19
* winning the 1990 Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe – Coronda that kickstarted her professional marathon swimming career, winning that race together with fellow Argentine Diego Degano
* getting invited to Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli after winning in Santa Fe-Coronda
* doing 50 professional marathon swims during her career including the 88 km Maratón Internacional Hernandarias – Paraná in her home home of Paraná
* serving as a FINA official at the Santa Fe-Coronda for 6 years after she retired
* racing against Anita Sood, Shelley Taylor-Smith, Rita Kovacs, and Karen Reeder including 25 females at Santa Fe – Coronda in the early 1990s
* doing better the worse conditions she faced
* receiving the 2007 Irving Davids-Captain Roger Wheeler Memorial Award from the International Swimming Hall of Fame and many other national awards and honors
* believing her most important role to maintain safety during FINA competitions – she talked about officiating at former FINA UltraMarathon Swim Series races below:

For more information, visit her Facebook page here and Instagram @silviadalotto.

1990 Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe – Coronda Results:
1. Silvia Dalotto (Argentina) 7 hours 35 minutes 10 seconds
2. Annemie Landmeters (Belgium) 7 hours 37 minutes 54 seconds
3. Irene van der Laan (Holland) 7 hours 52 minutes 44 seconds

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association