Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Honors Jennifer Anderson

Courtesy of Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

Chris Guesdon and Gary Toner announced Jennifer Anderson as a member of the inaugural Class of 2020 in the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

They explained, “Jenny holds the distinction of being Australia’s first world championship medalist when she was the second woman in the International Long Distance Swimming Federation World Championships in the 36 km Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli in July 1975.

Jenny was a Queensland distance swimmer who was first selected in the Australian national open water swim team in 1975. In 1976, Jenny travelled to Tasmania to prepare for the English Channel. She completed the Derwent River Big Swim in 9 hours 44 minutes and was the first woman to do so.

In July 1976, she again competed in the Maratona del Golfo Capri-Napoli. Then in August of that year competed in the World Professional Marathon Swimming Federation race in lac Chibougamau.

During this trip to North America, Jenny teamed with Dick Campion representing Australia to take on the 24 Heures La Tuque in Quebec. The two swimmers alternatively swam a circuit around the lake for 24 hours taking turns throughout the day and night. Historically, Jennifer was the fourth Australians to achieve the English Channel crossing. In August 1976, Jennifer swam the English Channel in 14 hours 15 minutes.

Jenny was building a profile to promote her Swim School in Queensland. In February 1978, Anderson swam the Maratón Acuática Internacional Santa Fe – Coronda, finishing the 56.7 km race with a formidable 9th overall against some of the greatest male and female swimmers of the time.

Her racing history is posted here.”

The inaugural class of Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame honourees inducted on August 2020 include:

Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Honourees – Class of 2020:
* Jennifer Anderson
* Lauren Arndt
* David Bates
* Clive Berry Rickards
* Kate Brookes-Peterson
* Roger Bruce
* Tamara Bruce
* Richard Campion
* Brendan Capell
* Graeme Carroll
* Cavill Family
* Melissa Cunningham
* William Ford
* Melissa Gorman
* Trent Grimsey
* Christopher Guesdon
* Susanne Guesdon
* Kevin Holtom
* Annette Kellerman
* Tracy Knowles
* John Koorey
* Susie Maroney OAM
* Chloë McCardel
* Linda McGill MBE
* Joseph Mitchell
* Lynton Mortensen
* David O’Brien OAM
* Penny Palfrey
* James Pittar
* Des Renford MBE
* Grant Robinson
* Rottnest Channel Swim Association
* Mark Saliba
* Josh Santacaterina
* Shelley Taylor-Smith
* Gary Toner
* Suzanne Toner

For more information, visit the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Facebook here with Instagram @amshofame.

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association