Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Honors Josh Santacaterina

Sponsored by Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

Chris Guesdon and Gary Toner announced Josh Santacaterina as a member of the inaugural Class of 2020 in the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

They explained, “Josh is a world champion open water swimmer after winning the 25 km event at the 2006 FINA World Open Water Swimming Championships in Italy. His career spanned from 2000 to 2009 in marathon swimming and included many ocean races of shorter distances. He has swum for Australia many times in the open water and marathon events:

FINA World Championships: 2003, 2005, 2007
FINA World Open Water World Championships: 2000, 2004, 2006, 2008
2000 – 25 km, 15th
2004 – 10 km, 11th
2005 – 25 km, 5th and 10 km 14th
2006 – 25 km, 1st and 10 km 5th
2007 – 25 km, 5th and 10 km 13th
2008 – 25 km, 11th

Internationally, Josh has competed in many marathon swims with many top 3 finishes including:

2001 Swim Across the Sound, 25 km 3rd
2003 FINA World Cup Egypt, 10 km 3rd
2004 FINA World Cup Hong Kong, 10 km 3rd
2007 FINA World Cup Portugal, 10 km 3rd

Josh has many top 10 finishes in races on all continents around the world including the a 4th in the 40 km Traversée internationale du lac Memphrémagog, the 36 km Atlantic City Around the Island Swim in 2001 where he finished 8th and the 32 km Traversée internationale du lac St-Jean in Canada where Josh also finished 8th. Josh also participated with a number of Australian swimmers of a variety of levels in South East Queensland to combine to set the 100×400 free relay world record.

His career of swim is posted here.”

The inaugural class of Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame honourees inducted on August 2020 include:

Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Honourees – Class of 2020:
* Jennifer Anderson
* Lauren Arndt
* David Bates
* Clive Berry Rickards
* Kate Brookes-Peterson
* Roger Bruce
* Tamara Bruce
* Richard Campion
* Brendan Capell
* Graeme Carroll
* Cavill Family
* Melissa Cunningham
* William Ford
* Melissa Gorman
* Trent Grimsey
* Christopher Guesdon
* Susanne Guesdon
* Kevin Holtom
* Annette Kellerman
* Tracy Knowles
* John Koorey
* Susie Maroney OAM
* Chloë McCardel
* Linda McGill MBE
* Joseph Mitchell
* Lynton Mortensen
* David O’Brien OAM
* Penny Palfrey
* James Pittar
* Des Renford MBE
* Grant Robinson
* Rottnest Channel Swim Association
* Mark Saliba
* Josh Santacaterina
* Shelley Taylor-Smith
* Gary Toner
* Suzanne Toner

For more information, visit the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Facebook here with Instagram @amshofame.

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association