Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Honors Lynton Mortensen

Sponsored by Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

Chris Guesdon and Gary Toner announced Lynton Mortensen as a member of the inaugural class in the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

They explained, “We welcome Lynton Mortensen into the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame. Lynton or Sea Bull, as he is known, became the first person to complete the Australian Triple Crown and the Oceans Seven. Lynton is now the 12th person in history to complete all seven ocean swims.

Even more impressively Lynton completed all seven swims within a two-year span, starting with the Strait of Gibraltar and then the English Channel.

Strait of Gibraltar – 14.4 km in 5 hours 12 minutes
English Channel – 33.8 km in 12 hours 35 minutes
North Channel – 35 km in 13 hours 49 minutes
Catalina Channel – 32.3 km in 13 hours 59 minutes
Molokai Channel – 42 km in 14 hours 49 minutes
Tsugaru Channel – 19.5 km in 9 hours 34 minutes
Cook Strait – 29.5 km in 14 hours 14 minutes

In addition to his 11 hour 10 minute Derwent River Big Swim, he also completed the 25 km Port to Pub Ultra Marathon from Fremantle to Rottnest in Western Australia (in 2017 in 9 hours 46 minutes finishing 18th) and the 27 km Palm Beach to Shelley Beach Marathon Swim in New South Wales, finishing 7th in 8 hours 23 minutes. These swims giving him the Triple Crown for Australia.

In August 2020, Lynton completed the 20 km Great Keppel Island Swim. Lynton has completed many other marathons around the world and his results can be found here.

Lynton is also a Barrister / solicitor and Managing Partner at HBM Lawyers in Brisbane.”

The inaugural class of Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame honourees inducted on August 2020 include:

Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Honourees – Class of 2020:
* Jennifer Anderson
* Lauren Arndt
* David Bates
* Clive Berry Rickards
* Kate Brookes-Peterson
* Roger Bruce
* Tamara Bruce
* Richard Campion
* Brendan Capell
* Graeme Carroll
* Cavill Family
* Melissa Cunningham
* William Ford
* Melissa Gorman
* Trent Grimsey
* Christopher Guesdon
* Susanne Guesdon
* Kevin Holtom
* Annette Kellerman
* Tracy Knowles
* John Koorey
* Susie Maroney OAM
* Chloë McCardel
* Linda McGill MBE
* Joseph Mitchell
* Lynton Mortensen
* David O’Brien OAM
* Penny Palfrey
* James Pittar
* Des Renford MBE
* Grant Robinson
* Rottnest Channel Swim Association
* Mark Saliba
* Josh Santacaterina
* Shelley Taylor-Smith
* Gary Toner
* Suzanne Toner

For more information, visit the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Facebook here with Instagram @amshofame.

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association