Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Honors Grant Robinson

Courtesy of Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

Chris Guesdon and Gary Toner announced Grant Robinson as a member of the inaugural Class of 2020 in the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame.

They explained, “Grant Robinson was a prominent premiere open water and marathon swimmer from 1996 through to 1999 in Australia and on the world stage. In 1996, Grant appeared on the scene as a relatively unknown open water swimmer.

He shocked the world by winning the 25 km FINA World Cup in Evian, France and gold for the Australian team continuing the legacy from 1991 and 1994 FINA World Championships.

Grant Robinson, Shelley Taylor-Smith, Melissa Cunningham, Joseph Mitchell after winning the 1996 Mediterranean International Swimming Relay Race

Grant was coached by Gary and Suzy Toner who have produced many open water swimmers on the Australian and international stage. Grant is Australia Swimming representative no 490. He then went on to be a force on the international open water marathon scene, swimming many events and setting race records, raising the standards and speed of the events.

Grant went on to set and still holds the marathon swimming record for the most distance swum in 24 hours in a 50 meter pool as ratified by the Guinness Book of Records of 101.1 km.

Grant was the FINA Distance Swimmer of the Year in 1997 and the 3-time Australian Male Open Water Swimmer of the Year. Grant was a great teammate and created a strong following in the training group that had six more swimmers follow him to represent Australia in open water swimming in 25 km events from chasing Grant in the pool and open water.”

Key achievements:
1996 FINA World Cup Evian, France 1st 25 km as a relative unknown
1996 FINA World Cup Team gold for the 25 km event with Joe Mitchell, Shelley Taylor-Smith and Melissa Cunningham
1996 1st 37 km Ponza, Italy
1996 1st 100 km Australian Team Relay Malta to Sicily with Shelley Taylor-Smith, Melissa Cunningham–Roberts, and Joe Mitchell who are all in the Hall of Fame
1996 Swimming Australia Men’s Open Water Swimmer of the Year
1996 1st Fukuoka, Japan 15 km Marathon
1996 International Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Certificate of Merit for accomplishments in 1996
1996 1st 25 km Albury-Murray River Swim
1997 1st Pan Pacific Games Trials 25 km Glenelg, South Africa
1997 24-hour marathon swimming record for continuous swimming which is still intact today 23 years later of 101.1 km in 50m pool
1997 1st 25 km Egyptian Nile River Marathon
1997 FINA Distance Swimmer of the Year – FINA Open Water Swimmer of the Year
1997 Swimming Australia Men’s Open Water Swimmer of the Year
2 x time winner of the 20 km Rottnest Channel Swim including setting the record in 1997 of 4 hours 8 minutes
1997 1st 25 km Pan Pacific Games Japan
1997 1st Team Pan Pacific Games with Tracey Knowles, Stephen Toth and Shelley Taylor-Smith
1997 1st Pre-Worlds Trials 25 km Bond University
1998 7th in the 25 km race at the FINA World Open Water Championships in Perth and 2nd in the 25 km team event with Tracey Knowles, Mark Saliba and Melissa Cunningham
1996, 1997, 1998 Australian 3x time 25 km champion
1998 1st 37 km Atlantic City Around the Island Swim in record time 6 hours 56 minutes – 1st person to break 7 hours
1998 1st 25 km Swim Across the Sound in record time in 4 hours 38 minutes – 1st person to break 5 hours
1998 1st FINA World Cup 36 km Traversée Internationale du lac Memphrémagog in Canada
1998 1st FINA World Cup 28 km Tapes Marathon Swim in Brazil
1998 Swimming Australia Men’s Open Water Swimmer of the Year
1996, 1997 and 1998 Australian Open Water Grand Prix Champion

Plus many more events around the world and in Australia. Grant was able to win an event in every corner of the world including Australia, Europe, America, North America, South America, Asia and Africa.”

For more information about her career, visit here.

The inaugural class of Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame honourees inducted on August 2020 include:

Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Honourees – Class of 2020:
* Jennifer Anderson
* Lauren Arndt
* David Bates
* Clive Berry Rickards
* Kate Brookes-Peterson
* Roger Bruce
* Tamara Bruce
* Richard Campion
* Brendan Capell
* Graeme Carroll
* Cavill Family
* Melissa Cunningham
* William Ford
* Melissa Gorman
* Trent Grimsey
* Christopher Guesdon
* Susanne Guesdon
* Kevin Holtom
* Annette Kellerman
* Tracy Knowles
* John Koorey
* Susie Maroney OAM
* Chloë McCardel
* Linda McGill MBE
* Joseph Mitchell
* Lynton Mortensen
* David O’Brien OAM
* Penny Palfrey
* James Pittar
* Des Renford MBE
* Grant Robinson
* Rottnest Channel Swim Association
* Mark Saliba
* Josh Santacaterina
* Shelley Taylor-Smith
* Gary Toner
* Suzanne Toner

For more information, visit the Australian Marathon Swimming Hall of Fame Facebook here with Instagram @amshofame.

Copyright © 2008 – 2020 by World Open Water Swimming Association